Hanson R. Tipton

Phone: (865) 637-1700
Fax:(865) 525-2514

Hanson R. Tipton is a member of Watson, Roach, Batson & Lauderback. Mr. Tipton is a member of the bars of the state of Tennessee, the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee, and the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

Mr. Tipton is a member of the American Bar Association, the Tennessee Bar Association and the Knoxville Bar Association.  With the Tennessee Bar Association, he served on the Continuing Legal Education Committee and was the chairman of the Young Lawyers Division Publications Committee.  Mr. Tipton also served as Editor of the Young Lawyers Division E-Dict monthly electronic newsletter.  He previously served as Editor of the Young Lawyers Division's Tennessee Young Lawyer publication.  Mr. Tipton is a graduate of the Tennessee Bar Association's Leadership Law Class of 2008.

Mr. Tipton currently serves as the President of the Knoxville Bar Association.  He won the 2014 KBA President’s Award in recognition of outstanding performance and dedicated service on behalf of the Knoxville Bar Association. He has also served on the Nominating Committee for the KBA Governor's Award.

Mr. Tipton previously served as law clerk for Senior Judge John K. Byers of the Tennessee Supreme Court. He earned his bachelor's degree from Florida State University, where he studied psychology and communications. He earned his J.D. degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 2002.

Mr. Tipton is an AV rated lawyer by Martindale – Hubbell.


University of Tennessee College of Law, Knoxville, Tennessee, 2002, J.D.
Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, USA, 1996, B.S., Bachelor of Science Major: Psychology


Medical Malpractice Defense
Civil Defense Litigation
Government Tort Liability
Workers' Compensation


Tennessee, 2002
U.S. District Court Eastern District of Tennessee, 2004
U.S. Court of Appeals 6th Circuit, 2004


Knoxville Bar Association President’s Award, 2014
Tennessee Bar Association Leadership Law - Class of 2008


Knoxville Bar Foundation, Fellows, 2017 - present
Knoxville Bar Association, President, 2020
Knoxville Bar Association, President-Elect, 2019
Knoxville Bar Association, Treasurer, 2018
Knoxville Bar Association, Secretary, 2017
Knoxville Bar Association, Member Knoxville Bar Association, Board of Governors, 2013-2015, 
    2016 - present    
Knoxville Bar Association Judicial Committee, 2006-present, Co-chairman, 2011 - present
Tennessee Bar Association, Member  Tennessee Bar Association, CLE Committee, 2008-2013
Tennessee Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division, 2006 – 2011
Tennessee Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division Fellows, 2011 - present
Tennessee Bar Association, Knoxville City CLE Captain, 2006-2007
Tennessee Bar Association, Publications Committee, 2007 – 2011  E-DICT, Editor, 2010-2011  
Tennessee Young Lawyer, Assistant Editor, 2007; Editor, 2008-2009
American Inn of Court, Barrister, 2006-2012
Phi Alpha Delta, Member 


Lynch v. City of Jellico, 205 S.W.3d 384 (Tenn. 2006), cert denied, 127 S.Ct. 1830, 167 L.Ed.2d 320, (U.S. Tenn. Mar. 19, 2007) (No. 06-933).
Wilson v. Morgan, 477 F.3d 326 (6th Cir. 2007), rehearing and rehearing en banc denied (2007).
Bohanan v. City of Knoxville, 136 S.W.3d 621 (Tenn. 2004).